Doing my part to disrupt the space-time continuum.

Reason number 1. Ham can serve as a practical solution to life’s problems

There are times in life when an unforeseen need arises where ham can actually step in to save the day.

Reason number 2.  Moons Over My Hammy is fun to say

Anytime I go to Denny’s Restaurant, I order Moons Over My Hammy . . . even if I don’t want to eat it. I order it just so that I can say in public, “I’ll have Moons Over My Hammy.” But if I REALLY don’t want to eat it, I’ll add, “No. Wait. I changed my mind. I don’t want Moons Over My Hammy, after all. I’ll just have toast.” Then I’ll sit there and giggle inside.

Reason number 3. Pigs are humorous and ham comes from pigs

They roll around in mud, which is weirdly appealing but also oddly tempting. Plus, they simultaneously grunt as if to say, “OMG! This is by far the funnest fun I’ve ever had in my whole life! And after I eat that crap in that trough over there, I’m going to roll around in this mud all over again.” On top of that, if you’re lucky enough to see a piglet at play, it’s totally hilarious, especially those little mini pigs. They ride low to the ground and they bounce like they have little boingy springs in their feet.

Reason number 4. Ham can be used humorously to make a serious point

You know how when you’re talking with a friend about the many possible outcomes of any given situation and it’s filled with, What ifs? Like, “I could change gas stations, but what if my car blows up?” or “I could switch shampoos, but what if my hair catches fire?”  Or the ‘what if” question that’s top of mind, “What if I go to the john and am hit with an overwhelming craving for ham?”

Well, I once had a friend who would respond wisely to a pile-up of “What ifs” with … “Yeah, but … what if you had a baby and a ham fell on it?!”

Sobering, isn’t it?

Look, I like ham and I don’t even need 4 reasons to like it. Ham is fun,  it’s practical and it’s versatile. However, the REAL purpose of this post isn’t to convince you to like ham. It’s to share with you the most Fan-tab-ulous SOUP recipe on the entire planet that also (and serendipitously) has ham in it … ham and potatoes … and other practical stuff. It scored a WAY past perfect 10 on the Man/Food-O-Meter in my house and since it’s time to finish up with what’s left of the holiday ham left overs, I place it here for your consideration. If you try it, come back and tell me what you think with oinks and squeals!

You will need:

3 1/2 cups peeled and diced potatoes
1/3 cup diced celery
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
3/4 cup diced cooked (versatile and practical) ham
3 1/4 cups water
2 tablespoons chicken bouillon granules
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
1 teaspoon ground white or black pepper, or to taste
5 tablespoons butter
5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups milk

Combine the potatoes, celery, onion, ham and water in a stockpot. Bring to a boil, then cook over medium heat until potatoes are tender, about 10 to 15 minutes. Stir in the chicken bouillon, salt and pepper.

In a separate saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Whisk in flour with a fork, and cook, stirring constantly until thick, about 1 minute. Slowly stir in milk as not to allow lumps to form until all of the milk has been added. Continue stirring over medium-low heat until thick, 4 to 5 minutes.

Stir the milk mixture into the stockpot, and cook soup until heated through. Serve immediately.

I’d love to lead you to believe that I came up with this delightful concoction all by myself but that would be wrong. The genius behind this recipe comes from “Ellie11” at AllRecipes.com. Go Ellie11!

Comments on: "4 Reasons To Like Ham … and a good recipe" (6)

  1. So, I LOVE this soup! I made it yesterday, now am making it AGAIN today.

    You rock, of course.

    • Ok, me again. Just got finished with the second batch. YUM. I used twice as much ham both times, and bought the bagged and already diced uncooked potatoes. One bag = just the right amount for the recipe. Just a tidbit from me 😎

      • TeeeRay said:

        You cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater!
        Just messin’ with ya! That’s actually an AWESOME idea! The hard work is already done! Yummy Yola Said The Queen! :o)

    • TeeeRay said:

      YOU rock!

  2. So really, you get to say “Moons over my hammy,” twice! Recipe sounds awesome

    • TeeeRay said:

      Ha!
      Hi Jules! Been peekin’ at your blog … LOVE IT! Thanks for stopping by! Come back if you make the soup.

Leave a Reply

