Doing my part to disrupt the space-time continuum.

I named my vacuum Mrs. Nesbitt.

Mrs. Nesbitt has been an integral part of my life for almost 10 years now. The moment I met her, I had to have her, so I shelled out almost $400 to make her mine.

Mrs. Nesbitt is not just ANY vacuum; She’s MY vacuum and I love her. She’s a part of our family and a valuable, contributing member.

I named my new vacuum Mrs. Nesbitt because I felt it a fitting name for such a fine machine.  It’s a fun name to say and mildly entertaining to think about when your only excitement for the day is housework. But beyond the sheer fun of it, naming your vacuum actually serves a purpose!

Number 1: Naming your vacuum can make your day sound more interesting.

For instance, when one of my friends with an exciting life asks me, “Hey, TeeeRay, what’d YOU do today?” in a manner that suggests that perhaps MY day was inferior to THEIR day, I can answer with enthusiasm, “Oh, I had an INCREDIBLE time with my wild and wacky friend Mrs. Nesbitt!” And when they look all impressed and interested, I can make up something super awesome so it sounds like I had THE MOST EXCITING day EVER!

Number 2: Naming your vacuum helps motivate your peeps to USE it with enthusiasm.

Think about it: Which phrase do you think would solicit the most favorable response?

A. “Honey, please run that boring, dead-skin-cell-sucking gray cylinder over this despicable, disgusting, disease-infested carpet,”

OR…

B. “Honey, Mrs. Nesbitt would delight in the pleasure of your company as you boogie-oogie-woogie together across the living room rug to her favorite Bieber tunes.”

My peeps routinely respond better to the latter request. Yes … they roll their eyes and Yes … they express their distrust in a personified vacuum cleaner but more importantly, they run the damned thing with little or no resistance and sometimes with a silly grin and a kind word directed toward Mrs. N.

I highly recommend naming your vacuum and any other appliance in your home that your peeps typically resist using. They will find it strangely amusing enough to pitch in and somewhat psychologically disturbing – which is the best part and a total perk.

Ok … how about it? What will you name your vacuum?

Comments on: "2 Reasons Why You Should Name Your Vacuum Cleaner" (3)

  1. Emily Bieger said:

    The very first thing that popped into my head was Hazel, and when I vacuum I’m going to have to call my husband Mr. B, which works out well seeing has how our last name is Bieger. If you’re too young to understand what I’m talking about than all I can say is “sigh”.

    • TeeeRay said:

      I LOVE Hazel! That’s the perfect name for a vacuum! Of course, I get the reference. Heavy sigh indeed … that show is so old, they had to syndicate the syndication!

  2. This is a tough one for me, as I rarely ever spend time with my vacuum and therefore really don’t know much about her… hell, I don’t even know if it is a “her”… could be a him??? I guess if I opened the door where the bag is I could figure it out… oh wait…. there’s a clue… bag…. ah hah!!! It IS a “him”!!! OK, with that mystery solved, it will be easier to come up with a name…. I’ll get back to you on that.

Leave a Reply

